Artist registrations are open through June 15, 2024! Learn more.

< Back to Fringe Festival 2021 Archives



Categories: Film, Music, Literary

Dates: September 10, 2021 - September 11, 2021

Run Time: 90 mins

Venue: Crane Arts Icebox


THE FLOODS is a massive video experience (96x20ft) in the Crane Icebox that immerses spectators in a kaleidoscopic journey in marshlands and industrial wastelands of the Anthropocene now being transformed by floods. It is created by artist/filmmaker Roderick Coover, composer Adam Vidiksis, and computation poet Nick Montfort.

In this special live concert spectacle, drummer Vidiksis leads an ensemble of internationally-renowned musicians in an hour-long concert performance that responds in the moment to the ever-changing video images, electronic sound and text generated by THE FLOODS. Vidiksis is joined by Archer Spade musicians Dan Blacksberg (trombone) and Nick Millevoi (electric guitar) and SPLICE Ensemble musicians Keith Kirchoff (keyboards, harmonium) and Sam Wells (trumpet). These virtuosic improvisors activate the unique acoustics of the massive Icebox space.

THE FLOODS addresses questions of land-use, industrial contamination and sea-level rise. Viewers travel along the marshlands and industrial wastelands of our local watershed and others worldwide that are shaped by industrialization. The sounds, images and text flow like waters, following a computer-code based system that gathers materials together in ever-changing experiences. The spectacle reveals forces of flow, floods and chemical contamination.

Suitable for all ages, THE FLOODS stimulates the imagination to find ways to make sense of the environment and climate change, and the live orchestration transforms the cinematic experience. Viewers can make use of optional seating or move about the space, and Crane Arts is an accessible building.

Roderick Coover - Adam Vidiksis - Nick Montfort

Roderick Coover is a Philadelphia-based media artist whose works take on current issues of climate change, extinction and human rights in relation to fundamental questions of sense, memory and narrative form. His work is internationally exhibited in venues such as the Venice Biennale Hyperpavillion, The Nobel Peace Prize Forum and Documenta Madrid and recipient Fulbright, LEF and Adam Mickiewicz awards among others. Adam Vidiksis is a Philadelphia-based musician who has received awards from the American Composers Forum, National Endowment for the Arts and ASCAP among others; his works are available through HoneyRock Publishing, EMPiRE, New Focus, PARMA, and SEAMUS Records­­­. Nick Montfort is a New York-based writer whose computer-generated books of poetry include #!, Autopia, The Truelist, and Hard West Turn. The work is produced by Chouette Collective with funded in part by a Vice Provost for the Arts Grant from Temple University, Philadelphia, PA, USA.


Media Artist/Filmmaker: Roderick Coover
Composer, Drummer: Adam Vidiksis
Computational Poet: Nick Montfort
Musicians: Dan Blacksberg, Keith Kirchoff, Nick Millevoi, Sam Wells
Technical Assistant: Jonah Pfluger
Intern: Alex Glass
Production House:Chouette Collective LLC
Made possible with support from the Temple University Presidential Humanities and Arts Award Program, The Temple University Center For Performing And Cinematic Arts Vice Provost In The Arts Award Program, Temple University Grant-In-Aid, and Chouette Collective LLC.


Please Wait
Talking to the Box Office...